Protecting my work. Please advice!

More than a year ago, I was contacted by the guys of Vision Mobile. It was a great honor for me since I’m a big fan of what they do.
They found my DICoDE model interesting and were looking for a new member in their team more focussed on the Media side of the Telecom ecosystems. We decided to collaborate on a blog post for their website to see how we can work together. Ultimately, I took the decision not to publish this article seeing it appeared to be more a guest post than a collaboration since I created all the content by myself. You can see the latest drafted version here.

pirate flagsA few weeks ago, I was surprised to see an analysis grid in one of their reports with a structure very close to DICoDE. I asked them about it and all they admitted is that ‘Great minds think alike’. I was not asking for more than acknowledgement that my work inspired them and receiving credit for it. As you know, I am a one-person initiative trying to find like-minded people to collaborate and all visibility in this perspective is important to me. That’s the reason why I share all my work under a Creative Common 3.0 license. As much as I love sharing what I do, I believe it is important to have it respected and publicize any infringement. Myself, I always credit IME (IESE branch focussed on Media and Entertainment industries)’s Value Chain model in every communication, since it really is a game changing event in my research and I will always be grateful for what it brought me.

As we apparently both are certain of our point, I would like to ask you, fellow readers, what you think of it. They claim that this grid is a natural evolution of their previous ‘Player Positioning Analysis’. I see a big change between the 2011 Components Grid of their Megatrends Report and after our collaboration around DICoDE (early 2012), coming from listing key components of the ecosystem to drawing a whole Value Chain. Not only did they stop listing important components of Telecom ecosystems to present an organized Value Chain (see the end of this post), but they also used terms they never used before in this context. It appears that 3 of the 5 steps of their Value Chain are exactly the same terms as the ones used in DICoDE (Content, Connectivity, User) which never appear in their previous versions. Further, at least 4 concepts are similar: Aggregation/Distribution, Screen/User Interface, Software Platform/OS and Devices/Hardware. Have a look by yourself:

DICoDE_TelcoToolbox2

To better understand where they come from before our collaboration, their previous version was listing these components: Social Networks, Cloud Services, Developer Ecosystem, Network, User Interface, Operating System, Hardware IP, Manufacturing without displaying them as a Value Chain (notice also the arrows that appeared after we collaborated). Here’s the historical evolution of both models side-by-side. What do you guys think?

Vision_Mobile_History

Links:
Vision Mobile Megatrends 2009
IME (IESE) Value Chain Tool used during the Business Strategies in the Digital Age class
Vision Mobile Megatrends 2010
DICoDE v1 (2010)
Simplified DICoDE v1 (2010)
Vision Mobile Megatrends 2011
DICoDE v2 (2011)
Collaboration between Fabian Tilmant and Vision Mobile using DICoDE to map Digital Magazine ecosystems and understand Business Models (not published)
Vision Mobile Megatrends (2012)
Vision Mobile Telco Innovation Toolbox (2013)

Note: If you want to go further down memory lane, check this blog post showing the very genesis of DICoDE, even before the IME Class.

This entry was posted in DiCoDE creation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

