Intuition road

Alex taught me something rather interesting and useful in all matters: how we move from ignorance to mastering. It’s a 4 step process: we don’t know that we don’t know, we know that we don’t know, we know that we know and then we don’t know (anymore) that we know. I was always confused between the latter two (which one comes first?). Now I know why…

In fact, intuition is absent of this model. And in my case, intuition is very important (my MBTI profile is INTP). That’s why I’ve added a middle step between the “I don’t know” and the “I know” blocks: I don’t know yet that I know…

Here’s what my intuition taught me today. I left for a late lunch to Les Super Filles du Tram and thought about bringing in some reading from my references. I spotted 101 Things I Learned in Architecture School and Making Ideas Happen and decided to bring them both. No particular reason, just a feeling… Arrived there, I started with the latter, reading very interesting things about seeking constraints, having a tempered tolerance for change and especially how to organize to do’s in space to foster action, based on John Maeda‘s experience. It’s interesting to see that the box concept I highlighted recently makes sense not only in framing creativity and innovation, but also action. It means that I could push this box logic from strategy to implementation, making it the common thread of the whole process…

The greatest part is that, being tired of this book, I started the other one. I saw 101 Things I Learned in Architecture School in Peinture Fraîche‘s window a few weeks ago and, being passionate about architecture and aware that we can learn from everything, especially things we are passionate about, I bought it. This book explains briefly 101 things that are interesting about architecture, with a text and an illustration. #6 was particularly interesting in the context of what I just read:

Matthew Frederick says in this article that, in architecture, closed spaces (positive spaces in their language) are almost always preferred by people for lingering, dwelling and social interactions, while open spaces (negative spaces) tend to promote movement. Extending this concept, I could tell that the boxes that are created and refined during the whole process of the method I’m putting in place in DICoDE the book help ideas and actions (following what I just learned in Making Ideas Happen) interacting, getting together and flourishing. Once again, constraints are positive.

This entry was posted in DiCoDE inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Intuition road

  1. Thanks a lot for the post on my book. I am a fan of the 4-step progression you describe, although I describe it thus: unconscious incompetence > conscious incompetence > conscious competence > unconscious competence. I’m not quite grasping the reason for your insertion between Steps 2 and 3, although I have found that between Steps 3 and 4 there is often a very long period of hopelessness, frustration, depression, etc., as one struggles to get past the mechanical application of what he has learned (e.g., a new piece on the piano, “oh, the fingers go this way”) and to ingrain the lesson so as to play seamlessly and emotively without conscious attention to the mechanics of the matter. BTW, one thing typically missed in the 4-step model is that it is an ascending cycle: When one reaches Stage 4/mastery, he has merely become, in a manner of speaking, incompetent at a higher level. Cheers, MF

  2. Thank you very much for your comment, Matthew! What I mean is that sometimes, before being aware of a competence, you feel, you sense that you know what it’s about. It’s all about an intuition at this stage. And later, you become conscious of this competence. Maybe it’s not universal, but it happened a few times for me… Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

